Great Post: This Young House Discusses Money Matters

I love this blog entry from This Young House. Easy money saving ideas are everywhere these days, but a few of these were so simple and yet things I haven’t tried (at least not so methodically).

My take on the cheap dinner night is that, at least once a week, I try to make something that doesn’t require me to buy any extra ingredients. This means saving a little extra meat that would have gone in another dish, using some canned or frozen veggies or some leftover veggies that are on their last couple of days, and repeatedly reminding my husband that he will not go hungry for lack of meat.

Another great concept is the “no spending” day. Of course you will still be USING funds, but it puts a cork in those little money leaks like lunches out, extra sodas, and spontaneous happy hours (my guilty pleasure).

Leave a Reply

