The Secret to Perfect Scones

As much as I love scones, I’ve tasted plenty of bad ones as well. The one characteristic that all the bad ones had in common was dryness. The ingredient that all of my favorite ones have had in common is yogurt.

I realize you’re probably tired of me talking about yogurt, but bear with me here. Yogurt keeps the scones moist, and gives a rich flavor without the need for large amounts of butter. It’s also convenient for us, given that it’s not uncommon for us to have plenty of yogurt in the house, but no milk.

And in case any of you have been making your own, I got the best results of all time this past week using Costco’s Kirkland 1% milk and Stonyfield plain yogurt (not Greek style) as a starter. It was thick, creamy, even a little glossy in texture.

But back to scones. Here’s a recipe that charmed us this late Saturday morning, a comfort food for a grey rainy day.

scones

Cinnamon Pecan Scones

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 heaping teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon all-spice
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4-1/2 cup chopped pecans

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Farenheit.
  2. In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients, mixing thoroughly.
  3. In a small bowl, combine yogurt, honey, egg, and butter. Whisk until thoroughly mixed.
  4. Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients until just moistened.
  5. Fold in pecans.
  6. Drop heaping spoonfuls at least 1″ apart onto greased baking sheet.
  7. Bake for 13-15 minutes, until they are lightly browned on top.

Serve with apple or pear preserves for extra Autumnal flavor.

6 responses to “The Secret to Perfect Scones

  1. Are there leftovers? I’ll trade you, you stitch up a seam in my “not so name brand” pants, and I’ll come taste your scones for you. Deal?

  2. You’re assuming we have leftovers. Scones don’t last a full 24 hours in this house 🙂

  3. my favorite chocolate cake recipe calls for yogurt (:

  4. Hmmm, I’ve never tried to make scones. I’ll have to try this!

  5. would vanilla yogurt make it taste funny? maybe too sweet? we have an abundance of non-fat vanilla yogurt in our house right now, and it’s a little too sweet for me to eat by itself. maybe i can make scones! jd LOVES scones, it’s an addiction. any other ideas for what to do with like 3 cups of excess vanilla yogurt?

  6. Actually the recipe that this started out as called for vanilla yogurt, so I think you’re fine! Just leave out the honey – that was my way of sweetening up the plain yogurt 🙂

Leave a Reply

